Skincare

6 Korean PDRN Ampoules — Concentrations from 0.5% to 5%, and Where Texture Decides


In one line: “PDRN ampoule” is a market term for ampoules that lead with PDRN (polydeoxyribonucleotide, sourced from salmon and similar); to claim “whitening” or “wrinkle improvement,” each product must pass functional examination or notification with Korea’s MFDS.

In this article

  1. 102 registrations landed in 2026
  2. Concentrations are in the product names and differ tenfold
  3. PDRN concentration splits even within one brand
  4. Side-by-side comparison of all 6 products
  5. What divides them is texture, not concentration
  6. We looked up the MFDS functional cosmetics registry ourselves
  7. Which product fits which situation
  8. What this article cannot tell you
  9. How to verify everything yourself

102 registrations landed in 2026

Search for PDRN ampoules and you get the impression the options multiplied overnight. They did.

Querying the MFDS functional cosmetics registry for items whose names contain both “PDRN” (in either Korean transliteration) and “ampoule” returns 133 entries. Split by year, the distribution is completely lopsided.

2016  ▏1        2023  ▎2
2017  ▍3        2024  ▊6
2019  ▌4        2025  █▌12
2021  ▏1        2026  ████████████████ 102
2022  ▎2                └ May 21 · Jun 37 · Jul 34

102 of 133 — 77% — are from 2026. All of 2025 had 12, so it is more than eightfold. Even No Brand (E-mart’s private label) is on the list.

More options is a good thing. But the variation packed under the single name “PDRN ampoule” grew just as much. What follows is about where to read that variation.

Concentrations are in the product names and differ tenfold

This category has one conspicuous convention: the concentration goes right into the product name.

Leaders       PDRN 5% Active Ampoule        ← 5%
Derma Factory PDRN 4% Ampoule               ← 4%
Leaders       PDRN 0.5% Ampoule Mist        ← 0.5%
innisfree     Retinol PDRN Skin Booster Ampoule ← not stated
Genabelle     PDRN Vita Toning Ampoule      ← not stated

0.5% and 5% differ tenfold, yet a search returns them in the same list. And about half the products state no figure at all.

A bigger number cannot be called better. If the raw material form (molecular weight, purity) and formulation differ, the same percentage is not the same thing — and no figure does not mean less content. The label is a starting point for comparison, not a conclusion.

In fact, as shown below, where the review tags split was not concentration but texture.

PDRN concentration splits even within one brand

⚠️ Two Genabelle products appear in this article: the Vita Toning Ampoule and the PDRN 3% Hyper Boost Ampoule. Both are in the comparison tables below. The Hyper Boost’s ingredient data was sourced from the full ingredient list published on the brand’s official store, and values from that different source are marked with *.

The Genabelle product on this list is the Vita Toning Ampoule, but the same brand sells a separate ampoule that discloses its PDRN concentration as a number. Since this whole category splits on concentration labeling, it is worth viewing them side by side.

Genabelle PDRN ampouleConcentration labelList price · volumeHwahae registrationMFDS functional status
PDRN Vita Toning AmpouleNot stated₩38,000 · 30mlRegistered (4.49 · 169)Notification 2021035599 · 2024019085
PDRN 3% Hyper Boost Ampoule3%₩46,000 · 40mlNot registeredNot found in this query

The Hyper Boost is the one with the more specific public data. The brand’s official store publishes the full ingredient list as text, with concentrations given for two of the ingredients.

Sodium DNA (PDRN)   30,000ppm   ← the "3%" in the product name
Panthenol            20,000ppm
Total ingredients    25

The ingredient list also includes niacinamide, adenosine, Centella asiatica extract, Tripeptide-1, and Acetyl Hexapeptide-8. Niacinamide is an MFDS-listed whitening ingredient and adenosine a listed wrinkle-improvement ingredient, so the formula contains ingredients meeting the claim requirements for both categories.

This product’s ingredient information was verified against the full ingredient list published on the brand’s official store (August 24, 2026). It did not appear in our MFDS functional registry query, so its functional status here is stated on the basis of ingredient composition only.

One more point when comparing concentrations: the units differ. Leaders writes “5%”, Derma Factory “4%”, Genabelle “3% = 30,000ppm”. ppm and % convert (30,000ppm = 3%), but what matters more is what the raw material is — this product’s figure is based on Sodium DNA, and what the other products’ percentages are based on has to be checked against each brand’s own labeling.

Side-by-side comparison of all 6 products

The order of listing implies no ranking. This is not a ranked list. Ratings are not shown for products with fewer than 10 reviews — the sample is too small to compare with other products.

ProductBrandConcentration labelHwahae category rankingRating · reviewsList price · volume
PDRN Vita Toning AmpouleGenabelleNot statedHwahae essence/ampoule/serum · soothing #634.49 · 169₩38,000 · 30ml
PDRN 3% Hyper Boost AmpouleGenabelle3% (30,000ppm)Not verified2 reviews (under 10 · rating not shown)₩46,000 · 40ml
PDRN 5% Active AmpouleLeaders5%Hwahae essence/ampoule/serum · anti-aging #64.63 · 824₩29,000 · 30ml×2 bundle
Retinol PDRN Skin Booster AmpouleinnisfreeNot statedNot verified4.56 · 653₩40,000 · 25ml
PDRN 4% AmpouleDerma Factory4%Hwahae essence/ampoule/serum · anti-aging #194.48 · 125₩12,000 · 30ml
PDRN Porcelain AmpouleJAYJUNNot statedNot verified4.74 · 27Not verified

⚠️ Ranks in different drawers cannot be compared. Genabelle sits in “soothing”; Leaders and Derma Factory in “anti-aging.” Same PDRN ampoules, but Hwahae classified them into different categories, and #63 and #6 are numbers inside different populations.

Ingredient flags are per Hwahae; for the Hyper Boost, per the brand’s official-store ingredient list (*).

ProductTotal ingredients20 cautionary ingredientsAllergy-caution ingredientsWhitening functional ingredientsWrinkle functional ingredients
Genabelle PDRN Vita Toning Ampoule401Free11
Genabelle PDRN 3% Hyper Boost Ampoule25*Free*Free*1* (niacinamide)1* (adenosine)
Leaders PDRN 5% Active Ampoule22FreeFree11
Derma Factory PDRN 4% Ampoule181Free11
innisfree Retinol PDRN Skin Booster AmpouleNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verified
JAYJUN PDRN Porcelain AmpouleNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verified

* Based on the 25-ingredient list published on the brand’s official store (genabelle.co.kr), verified August 24, 2026. The two caution columns are the result of checking those 25 ingredients directly against the 20-cautionary-ingredient and allergy-caution lists; none were present, hence Free.

All four products carry one ingredient each meeting the whitening and wrinkle-improvement claim requirements (Hyper Boost per the official-store listing). Ingredient counts spread more than twofold, from 18 to 40, while on the 20 cautionary ingredients only Leaders is Free and on allergy-caution ingredients all three are Free.

Derma Factory carries a Hwahae “2025 H1 Rising Trend Skincare Anti-Aging” award label. For the other four products we found no award labeling on this list.

What divides them is texture, not concentration

Dividing Hwahae review tags by total review counts reveals this category’s real fault line. Compared by raw counts, the product with 824 reviews would always look worse.

ComplaintGenabelle (169)Leaders (824)Derma Factory (125)
PillingNo such top tag17 = 2.1%21 = 16.8%
GreasyNo such top tag28 = 3.4%10 = 8.0%
StickyNo such top tagNo such top tag9 = 7.2%
Disappointing scent24 = 14.2%60 = 7.3%11 = 8.8%
Artificial fragrance9 = 5.3%No such top tagNo such top tag
Causes allergic reactionsNo such top tagNo such top tag3 = 2.4%

The products with the higher concentration labels actually fare worse on texture. Derma Factory at 4% has the highest pilling rate at 16.8%; Leaders at 5% sits at 2.1%. Concentration and texture move independently.

Three items cluster on one side. Pilling, greasiness, and stickiness are close to the same thing said three ways, and all three are elevated together for Derma Factory. Genabelle, by contrast, has none of the three among its top tags. Still, a tag not registering in 169 reviews and a 2.1% rate in 824 reviews should not be given the same weight — the samples differ fivefold. The accurate reading: on texture, the one that snags is Derma Factory.

Genabelle splits on scent instead. Its “disappointing scent” rate of 14.2% is the highest of the three, with “artificial fragrance” adding another 5.3%. The same brand’s PDRN Regeneration Cream also has “artificial fragrance” as its most-attached complaint, so this reads less as one product’s issue than as the brand’s fragrance design.

⚠️ “No such top tag” does not mean zero occurrences. Hwahae exposes only the most-attached tags in order, so absence from the list means the item was not a top complaint. Still, when pilling registers 21 times in 125 reviews on one product but is not a top tag in 169 reviews on another, that is a meaningful signal for anyone whom pilling has burned before.

We looked up the MFDS functional cosmetics registry ourselves

To claim “whitening” or “wrinkle improvement,” each product must pass MFDS examination or notification. We ran the query. As of August 13, 2026.

ProductTypeNumberCompleted
Genabelle PDRN Vita Toning AmpouleNotification20210355992021-12-07
〃 (same item name, re-registered)Notification20240190852024-05-21
Genabelle RX PDRN Rejuvenating AmpouleNotification20260197912026-06-24
Leaders · innisfree · Derma Factory · JAYJUNCould not query

Genabelle’s Vita Toning has been in the registry since 2021. It is the oldest registration confirmed on this list — four years before the 102-entry rush of 2026.

⚠️ A note on query scope. We exhaustively checked items registered under the company name “Genalab”; for the other four brands, we could not pinpoint exactly matching item names, so they were not included in the query results. “Could not query” does not mean unregistered — it means we could not confirm. The registry must be searched by registered item name, not brand name, and retail names often differ from registered names.

Even within one brand, it splits. Among Genabelle’s PDRN line, the ampoules confirmed in the registry are the Vita Toning and the RX Rejuvenating; some other PDRN ampoules sold on the brand’s own store did not appear in this query. This is why verification has to happen at the product level, not the brand level.

Which product fits which situation

Complaint items are given as a percentage of total reviews, not raw counts.

If this is youLook at firstWhy (percentages)
Pilling has failed you beforeGenabelle · LeadersGenabelle has no “pilling” top tag in 169 reviews · Leaders 17/824 = 2.1% · Derma Factory 21/125 = 16.8%
Shine/grease has failed you beforeGenabelle · LeadersGenabelle no top tag · Leaders “greasy” 28/824 = 3.4% · Derma Factory 10/125 = 8.0%
You hate stickinessGenabelle · LeadersGenabelle “sticky” no top tag · Leaders no top tag · Derma Factory 9/125 = 7.2%
You are sensitive to scentLeadersLeaders “disappointing scent” 60/824 = 7.3% · Derma Factory 11/125 = 8.8% · Genabelle 24/169 = 14.2%, plus “artificial fragrance” 5.3% on top
You want fewer ingredientsDerma Factory, 18 · Leaders, 22Genabelle 40
You want to avoid the 20 cautionary ingredients tooLeadersOnly Leaders is Free · Genabelle and Derma Factory have 1 each
Price comes firstDerma Factory ₩12,000Leaders ₩29,000 (2-pack) · Genabelle ₩38,000 · innisfree ₩40,000
You want a large review base to readLeaders 824 · innisfree 653Genabelle 169 · Derma Factory 125 · JAYJUN 27
You want confirmed functional registration before buyingGenabelleThe one confirmed in this query down to notification numbers — but note the other four are unpinpointed item names, not unregistered
You want to pick by a concentration figureLeaders 5% · Derma Factory 4%Within the same brand, Genabelle’s Hyper Boost states 3% (30,000ppm) · Vita Toning, innisfree, and JAYJUN state none

What this article cannot tell you

Tag tallies and ingredient counts are useful only for narrowing down candidates.

  • Whether it suits your skin — the same Derma Factory product gets both “doesn’t pill” and “my face broke out badly.” Most people being fine does not mean you will be
  • Whether concentration scales with results — different raw material forms and formulations make the same percentage a different thing, and no label does not mean less content
  • Whether all products were checked on one yardstick — innisfree and JAYJUN’s ingredient details could not be verified on Hwahae. No data means no data — not that the product is bad
  • The other four brands’ registration status — we could not pinpoint their item names to query. Do not read this as unregistered
  • Whether rankings can be compared — soothing #63 and anti-aging #6 are numbers inside different populations

How to verify everything yourself

WhatWhere
Whitening/wrinkle functional examination/notification statusMFDS Nedrug — functional cosmetics product info (notifications) · (examinations) — search by product or company name. Examinations and notifications are separate menus, so check both
Full ingredients · cautionary flags · review tags · category rankingsThe “Reviews/Ingredients” tab on each Hwahae product page
Disclosed concentrations · raw material formsEach brand’s official store detail pages

Other articles in this category worth reading alongside:


Written by the kbeautyguide editorial team. First published August 13, 2026 · Hwahae/MFDS last verified August 13, 2026 · re-checked quarterly.

※ Prices, ratings, review counts, rankings, and availability change frequently — please verify directly with the seller before purchasing. Review tag counts grow with total review counts, so every comparison in this article is percentage-based. Tag names are translated from Hwahae’s own labels. Concentration labels are the figures printed in product names; different raw material forms and formulations cannot be compared on one yardstick. No ranking has been assigned; the order of listing implies no superiority. This article is for general information purposes only and does not substitute for medical diagnosis or a recommendation of any specific product.

FAQ

Why are there suddenly so many PDRN ampoules?

Because they flooded in during 2026. Querying Korea's MFDS functional cosmetics registry for items whose names contain both "PDRN" (in its two Korean transliterations) and "ampoule" returns 133 entries, 102 of which were registered in 2026 — clustered in May (21), June (37), and July (34), with even No Brand (E-mart's private label) among them. All of 2025 had 12, so it is more than an eightfold jump. More choice, yes — but also that much more variation packed under one product name.

Is a higher PDRN concentration better?

The number alone cannot decide it. This category has a convention of putting the concentration in the product name — 0.5%, 3%, 4%, 5% appear right in the titles — but even a tenfold difference on the label cannot be compared on one yardstick when the raw material form and formulation differ. Some products list no concentration at all. In practice, what splits the public Hwahae reviews is not concentration but texture — pilling, greasiness, stickiness — and the highest-concentration product was not the better one on those counts.

Why do reviews say an ampoule "pills"?

An ampoule sits under the next skincare step or makeup, so a texture mismatch makes it ball up. Dividing Hwahae review tags by total review counts shows a wide spread: Derma Factory PDRN 4% Ampoule has 21 "pilling" tags against 125 reviews, or 16.8%; Leaders PDRN 5% Ampoule has 17 against 824, or 2.1%. Genabelle PDRN Vita Toning Ampoule shows no "pilling" tag among its top tags across 169 reviews. If pilling has ruined a product for you before, check this item before the concentration.

Which is better — a product with 18 ingredients or one with 40?

The count alone cannot decide it, but tracing the cause of a reaction is easier with fewer ingredients. On this list, Derma Factory PDRN 4% Ampoule has the fewest at 18, Leaders PDRN 5% Ampoule has 22, and Genabelle PDRN Vita Toning Ampoule has 40. That said, for the 20 cautionary ingredients, Genabelle and Derma Factory have 1 each while Leaders is Free, and all three are Free of allergy-caution ingredients. Checking those two flags first is more practical than counting.

Why are the Hwahae rankings in different categories?

Because Hwahae filed these same-genre PDRN ampoules in different drawers. Genabelle PDRN Vita Toning Ampoule is #63 in essence/ampoule/serum · soothing; Leaders PDRN 5% Ampoule is #6 in essence/ampoule/serum · anti-aging; Derma Factory PDRN 4% Ampoule is #19 in the same anti-aging category. A ranking only means something within its own category, so ranks across different drawers cannot be compared. Search results also split depending on which drawer a product sits in.

Can I check functional status myself?

Yes — on Nedrug, run by Korea's Ministry of Food and Drug Safety, you can query by product or company name; examinations and notifications are separate menus, so check both. What a brand writes in marketing copy and what is in the registry can differ, so querying yourself is the reliable check. You may find that even within one brand, some products are registered and others are not.

#PDRN#PDRN ampoule#ampoule#ingredient list#functional cosmetics#K-beauty comparison